Is Google Making Us Stupid?

In the blog we had to read for class about Google and its affect on us, the author thought that Google in general is making us stupid as it has given us less of an attention span while reading all forms of literature, and that we can no longer fully grasp the full meaning of the reading because of our lack of interest. While I agree this is true in that I do not read as much as I have in the past, especially longer texts and readings, and might not understand as completely about a subject as someone who read the whole thing might, I feel that Google has actually made me smarter. Google actually makes me read more. Before I used the internet I would occasionally read the newspaper and books. Now though, I use Google to find articles about everything all the time. I usually do not read all of the articles, but I almost always have a good general understanding of the topics. It is because of this shortening of reading which allows me to read more articles and thus learn more about more subjects.I disagree with the author of the blog because of the help Google gives us. I have learned so many little facts and found out so much more information about almost everything excluding maybe books because of the internet. I think that having a greater overall knowledge about many subjects instead of a very strong understanding on a few subjects is more useful in life and also makes a person smarter, which is why Google is helpful and is making us smarter.

About jeremydrenaud

Georgia Tech Freshman Born in Saudi Arabia, grew up in Atlanta, went to High School in Switzerland
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment